Dismissing the Core

by twofiftyorless

In the pool (his prescription demanded it), she worked on his “core”, and he had no difficulties with the activities that she presented to him. On land, I focused on education and graded exposure to movement, initially in supine, and had progressed him to quadruped before he saw Tom on 11/9. Over time, his pain had reduced from a 9/10 max, to 3/10.

When I saw Michael again on 11/15, I progressed him to sitting activities (tilts, clocks, lateral shifting, etc). I encouraged him to move slowly and to feel how his body moved, to remain pain-free, and to appreciate how much he could indeed move without a discomfort. He tolerated this without complaint. I had been instructed to give him “core” exercises, so I concluded the session with tubing exercises (as Tom had done before me), encouraging Michael to keep his hips and shoulders in line.

On 11/16, I got called into her office…again. Michael had called and left a voice mail on her phone. He was disappointed that I did not address his “core” like Tom had; he felt I had not followed through with Tom’s plan of care. My boss was wondered why I did not work on more stabilization exercises. I told her that I had worked on stabilization activities (using the exact same as Tom), but declined to tell Michael that I was working on his core to reduce pain due to a lack of stability; I feared such misinformation would be neither beneficial or truthful.

