Paralysis By Analysis

by twofiftyorless

Perhaps there is no such thing as a stupid question, but there are people who feel that they are entitled to answers that they have not yet prepared for, yearning for simplicity without giving complexity its due.

I have been watching people ask what (I think) are the wrong questions for months now. They try to grasp, through academic knowledge and instruction on a personal computer, something that is attained through experience and feeling in the real world.  As a result, they continually ask the wrong questions at the wrong time without the requisite understanding necessary to benefit from the abstract answers that their questions demand. I, on the other hand, prefer to ask nothing; I watch, read, learn, and reminisce.

I recall how (at the age of 12) I was the one who told Henry where to successfully drill my families new well, how I played Ouiji as a teenager, or how I nearly “unwound” as an adult and know that I am closer to what has eluded me than I think.

He answered a question this week stating that it starts “with the way you tie your tie in the morning.” Intentionally, his words likely mean something different to each reader, yet (even so) no reader is wrong.

That each reader often wants their respective meanings to be the same (or even “right”) must be frustrating.

