Utility Man

by twofiftyorless

In baseball, if a player is successful in three out of ten trials, they are considered an all star; if they can continue their “success” for another ten years, they are considered a hall of famer. On the other hand, if they are only able to attain success in two out of ten trials, they are considered incompetent.

120 posts ago, I began sitting at my PC every morning (with a brief  hiatus) inspired to:

…Do it every day. Every single day. Not a diary, not fiction, but analysis. Clear, crisp, honest writing about what you see in the world. Or want to see…

My writing has been honest, that much is certain. However, as I have decided to look back, I wonder if I am following the rules that I set for myself. How many posts are like a diary? How many include analysis? How many are clear and crisp? Notice I am not saying that the writing is good, only that my thoughts are clear and involve some level of critical/reflective thought.

After 45 minutes of analysis, the math is easy: I have achieved my objective 30 times. In baseball, I would have a .250 batting average. I would not be a starting shortstop, but I would still be on the team. I might not get into the game a lot, but every once in a while, the manager would call my name and send me in to pinch hit or to play as a defensive replacement. Even if I were to be the last person off the bench, I would still have a shot at doing something important, something people might remember.

It is hard to ask for much more than that, especially as a rookie.

For those interested, the posts that followed the “rules” included:

Shackled, But Holding The Keys
Utter Disgust
My Only Certainty
Four In Hand
A Lesson Learned
Humiliating
Syntax and Nobility
Endurance
Accidental Oracle
8 hours, 126 interruptions
Judging a Book by Its Cover
The .0000000001 percent
Never a Fisherman
Therapy on (Thin) Ice
Comfort Zone
Interfering With Nature
A New Identity
Time’s Value
As Thomas’ Shadow
Scruples
The Myofascial Mystery
Good For Bad Times.
Finding Direction
Pundits and Gurus
Changing The Experience
So Much To Learn, Pt. 3
“I really am a very simple person”
Gryllacrididic Empathy
Jump Their Fence
Gandhi Wasn’t Selfish