Creating Our Future

by twofiftyorless

Working for a large entity now, I often receive mass emailings from those far higher up the organizational ladder than myself. They tend to be trivial musings somehow intended to make all of the employees feel like they are part of a team, instead of the replaceable cogs in a large medical machine that is moving ahead (with or without them) powered by inertia alone. The writer feels empowered, the reader feels connected; everyone wins.

We also get short motivational quotes sent to us as well. This one, from our President and CEO, in particular made me smile this week:

“We cannot predict the future, but we can create it.”

I wondered:  How disappointed would she be if she learned that her future had already been formulated for her?

(See this “clip” for an understanding of my thought process)

