A or B ?

by twofiftyorless

“I am going to miss you coming in. How do you deal with letting go of that emotional attachment that you develop with a patient when you need to stop their therapy?”

(A) I used to work with children with special needs, and the one thing I took from that experience was to never become emotionally involved. You see, there are too many instances where children would spend 6 hours in a nurturing and caring environment carefully constructed by me and my colleagues, only to send a child home to live with a family that seems to love them less than their teachers do. When you hear about teachers getting burned out, that is why. But, if you become emotionally invested in your job (instead of the children themselves), it becomes easier. That is the only way I could convince myself to go back to work each day.

The same holds true now for patients who live with unsupportive families or are held captive in assisted-living facilities throughout the county without their families providing them with the emotional support they so desperately need. I (myself) only have so much emotional capital, and my family needs it first and foremost. The rest goes to my job, but I cannot afford to invest it in each patient individually.

It would break me.

…or…

(B) Please, understand that my investment in your physical progress does not mean I necessarily become emotionally attached to you. Providing care is not the same as caring.

I chose “A”.

